Anchorage Brewing and Jolly Pumpkin collaboration- Calabaza Boreal: Northward 

There is a TED podcast by Mandy Len Cantron TED talk here, in which she deconstructs the madness of love linguistically and said we ought to talk about it as more of an artistic collaboration. If we take that proposal to this work of brew, then we have a harmonious duo of a blend of two ingredients, mainly grapefruit and peppercorns. 

My first impression was from the color, a light weiss, and sip, which left me with the thought “I am going to regret buying this beer.” 

This purchase, and one other I have yet to review, is from my one and only trip to The Beer Temple, which was totally by accident when a previous Chicago friend was in town from her new home in Chile. 

But, but of course the second and continual tastes after were an amazing blend of sour goodness somehow highlighted and yet flattened the bitterness of the grapefruit by the peppercorns. 

My glass has finally been emptied of the last of it. I wish I had more. Before this purchase I may have heard of Jolly Pumpkin but haven’t seen it sold, and had never heard of Anchorage, but now I can look forward to Jolly Pumpkin opening in a more underserved neighborhood Hyde Park this year. Read about it here.  I look forward to visiting and perhaps seeing this on tap. This beer was purchased based on my fruit sour obsession of last year and despite my first impression, I am extremely happy I bought this and even happier after waiting a good while to open it, I didn’t actually have to share. 

Leave a comment