Vegan Brewery in Rockford IL

Rockford IL is mostly known for a band that was popular in the late 70’s/ early 80s. However, now, it may draw vegetarian/ vegan and beer lovers in with its unique niche of vegan brewery- known as- Pig’s Mind.

Some of my coworkers asked isn’t all beer vegan? Well of course we mean the food. It is common bar/ pub food but a fairly decent selection of it. Unfortunately when I visited, they were out of the gyro and the bbq. I got the oyster po-boy which fit my requirement of something I couldn’t easily make at home.

And we’ll of course you’re wondering about the beer. To be honest, I don’t remember what I had or what they were out of but I tend to go for IPA’s and here is my photo of one with fruit. I’m assuming it’s #4. Also due to the fact I was traveling and the only sold growlers to go, I was unable to try more than two flavors.

Fruit beer!

I was surprised to learn that in fact Pigs Mind has already been open for seven years. I only recently learned of it via FB, which was probably the result of a targeted ad. (Target audience reached). I was even more surprised to learn that, after quizzing the waiter, Pig’s Mind had absolutely nothing to do with veganism. (The waiter was one. ). No, apparently the couple who opened the business met in college and the male of the pair said something that the female responded to with that he had a pig’s mind. So there you have it. No sublime messages to going vegan at all exist in the name, although you would assume due to the concept that it does.

All in all, I might make a trip out to Rockford again to eat here, or try to eat there if I were in the area already, but it certainly would not be a calling as there are many good breweries and veggie/ vegan places in sweet home Chicago.

Daughter happy with pretzel as big as your head. Ate leftovers the next day.
Chicken tender basket from kids menu. Yes there was a kids’ menu!

Leave a comment