Summer Crushes at 5 Rabbit

5 Rabbit has been my favorite Chicago brewery ever since I sampled 5 Vulture at a outdoor fest in Lincoln Park where my attraction is Calexico. 5Vulture  is tagged as a Oaxcan Ale with ancho chilies.  It is dark, smooth and creamy with a satisfying full mouth feel. I buy it occasionally as its not really an every day beer. 

So, I was ecstatic when 5 Rabbit announced what I termed a Fruit and Beer Love Festival which they titled Summer Crushes. (Dear Reader, as an aside, let it be known that once I wrote and asked if well-behaved six year olds were welcome and they said yes.) 

I was fortunate to be able to have left my well-behaved seven and a half year old with some neighbors at our block party. Maps said twenty two minutes in the car ( an hour and a half by bus, by the way) and that was accurate even with Chicago traffic. Thank goodness for technology because otherwise, we never would have found it. Hidden east of Cicero in a business park type area is not easily navigated using old means of navigation. 

If I hadn’t gotten the dates wrong on the weekend of our block party, I never would have bought tickets to this event, and I’m not usually an impulsive buyer, I mull things over a good while before buying, even if it’s inexpensive; a trait that drives my husband crazy. So at 40 a pop, and buying tickets when I first recieved the email announce was a fairly adventurous impulse purchase for me, but 6 Rabbit Brewery? Fruit and beer combinations from several local breweries? I would only be depriving myself. 

The 40$ was a fair price. You recieved 20 tickets when you walked in ( maybe it was different for walk up sales). Unlike a street fest, it was 2 tickets for a full pour and 1 for a half pour. Trust me, you did not need a full pour! 

Also, they had picnic benches, a hammock, live Brazilian Bossa type music, fuse ball, badminton, volleyball ( the kind attached to a net) and bean bag toss. Plus tacos for sale. 

I did try a whole lot of the beers, and just like anything, a whole lot of one thing, and it starts to taste the same, but there were some standouts.  My favorite being Primrose Brewery Lime Zest Saison. 

I hope this will be an annual event!

Original announce 

August 27

Join Good Beer Hunting for a late summer hang  ā€” in collaboration with 5 Rabbit Cerveceria, the brewery that brought us Paletas, those colorful, fruity popsicle-inspired beers of the Chicago summer, we’re kicking off a new event focused specifically on fruited beers.

We’re gathering a bunch of our brewing friends to bring you some of the best fruit-infused, and fruit-fermented beers around, as well as some new one-off experiments.

We’ll be hosting the small festival at 5 Rabbit brewery ā€” so if you haven’t yet gotten out to see their new taproom, this is as good a reason as you’ll get.

Tons of great beer, some summery food, and summer jams. Join us, and help make the first Summer Crushes festival one of those lasting summer memories you hold in your heart for years to come.

5 Rabbit Brewery ā€” 6398 74th St, Bedford Park, IL 60638
Entry gets you 20 drink tickets for half or full sample pours. More available for purchase.
Food from Antique Taco available.


Summer Crushes tickets

40.00

21+ only
No physical tickets will be mailed
ID + email receipt required at the door
Ticket includes drink tickets
Food available for purchase

Leave a comment